Davis Award

richardmardendavisEach year, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP joins the Denver Bar Foundation and Davis Family to sponsor the Richard Marden Davis Award, presented to a Denver lawyer “under the age of 40 who so combines excellence as a lawyer with creative civic, cultural, educational, and charitable leadership as to best exemplify the character and promise of Richard Marden Davis at that stage in his career.”

Dick Davis set an example of a skilled, charismatic lawyer who also made time for extensive community service. For nearly 50 years, Dick devoted himself tirelessly to the profession and the community. He served as president of the Denver Bar Association in 1959, and he played key leadership roles in the Colorado Public Expenditures Council, Museum of Natural History, Colorado Association of Commerce and Industry, Denver Rotary Club, Denver Art Museum, and other organizations. The award was created in memory of Dick Davis, not only to recognize successful and committed young lawyers, but also to inspire other young attorneys to follow in his footsteps.

In 1993, the inaugural Davis Award was presented to then-Judge Celeste Quinones. Each year since, the award has been presented to a young attorney with an outstanding record of professional and community service achievements. The previous recipients continue to uphold the tradition of leadership that the award represents. The list is impressive and diverse, and includes judges, governors, public prosecutors, general counsel, and private practitioners:

2016 Cristal Torres DeHerrera, City of Denver

2015 Qusair Mohamedbhai, Rathod Mohamedbhai LLC

2014 Denise D. Hoffman, Hoffman Crews Nies Waggener & Foster LLP

2013 Shannon Stevenson, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

2012 Franz Hardy, Gordon & Rees LLP

2011 Stacy Carpenter, Polsinelli PC

2010 Mark Clouatre, Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell LLP

2009 Monica M. Marquez, Justice, Colorado Supreme Court

2008 Mari Newman, Killmer, Lane & Newman LLP

2007 Michael Carrigan, Holland & Hart LLP

2006 Kristin Bronson, Lewis Roca Rothgerber LLP

2005 Kenzo S. Kawanabe, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

2004 Tim Macdonald, Arnold & Porter LLP

2003 Todd Fredrickson, Fisher & Phillips LLP

2002 Chris Little, Montgomery Little & Soran, PC

2001 Richard Gabriel, Justice, Colorado Supreme Court

2000 Gilbert Roman, Judge, Colorado Court of Appeals

1999 Paul Chan, General Counsel, University of Denver

1998 Natalie Hanlon-Leh, WilmerHale LLP

1997 David Powell, Ogletree Deakins, P.C.

1996 Allan Hale, Hale Westfall LLP

1995 Kathleen Odle, Sherman & Howard LLC

1994 A. William “Bill” Ritter, Jr., Former Colorado Governor

1993 Celeste Quinones, former Judge, City and County of Denver